Skip to content

Dear Weeds

May 16, 2009

Dear Weeds,

I don’t know where you came from, but you have utterly taken over my garden, and I don’t like it one bit.  As a matter of fact, I don’t like you one bit.  You come in uninvited and you take root someplace where you have no right to.  I don’t believe in squatter’s rights after all.  But I also don’t believe in chemical pesticides.  Do you have any idea how long it will take me to go through my entire garden and pull you out, one by one?  But don’t you worry, I will do it. I will take you down. I will pull you out and throw you on the compost heap like the weeds you are.  Maybe you won’t even make it to the compost heap, maybe I’ll just throw you on the walkpath to be ground in by the soles of my shoes.  Take that weeds.  It’s war.

Kisses, Me

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~~*~*~*~*~*~*

Argh!! The weeds have taken over! They are everywhere! The hubby and I finally got into our garden last night, the first time in a week.  Apparently, in order to open the new lock, you need to squeeze it together, then pull it apart.  So counterintuitive.  But we got in and planted our tomatoes, peppers, and zucchini, yay!  Then, there was no hope for it, we had to weed, our beds were starting to look like grass, there were so many weeds.

Here’s an example.

Before weeding:

DSCN2285

After weeding:

DSCN2290

Much better.  Not perfect, but better.  We were running out of sunlight so we had to move fast.  Our lettuce is doing so well, we’re going to need to thin it out soon and transplant.

Look what the hubby found when turning up the soil for our final two beds!

DSCN2282

Sorry so blurry, my little Point and Shoot camera didn’t know where to focus.  A carrot! A half eaten, slightly rotted carrot, but still, awesome :)  I can’t wait for our carrots to get that big.

Anywho, this is a post and run, as we have to head over to Springfield, MA today for my BIL’s college graduation.  But everything we’ve planted has finally started sprouting, so I’ll be back with more later!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

