Skip to content

We have a real garden

May 17, 2009

I’m back with updated pics! Everything we have planted has finally started sprouting, so exciting!

Carrots

Carrots

Brussels Sprouts

Brussels Sprouts

Sugarsnap Peas

Sugarsnap Peas

If anyone has followed my blog at all, you’ll remember my post about maple trees and how I wanted to have sugar maples in my dream farmhouse whenever we get around to buying it.  Well, right now I am so over maple trees.  The saplings are everywhere! They’re one of the biggest “weeds” in my garden – they are so prevalent in this part of the country I don’t even feel bad pulling them up anymore.  In the sugarsnap pea pic you can see a number of maple tree seeds – I’ve taken to piling them in the corner of the garden because they are driving me nuts.

A couple more pics – one of our strawberry plants has started flowering!

DSCN2286

Whee! Will it start producing strawberries soon then?  No idea.

Our spinach is getting quite big.  The seeds did not turn out to have a very high germination rate, which is disappointing, as spinach is my favorite veggie.  But what did germinate is growing well, and we practically have baby spinach already!

Baby Spinach

Baby Spinach

Friday evening we finally (ok, K really) turned over the dirt for our remaining two beds.  We’re done with tilling, hurray! The automatic tillers actually just came around last week. We had asked them not to turn ours over because we wanted to start earlier, and I’m really glad we did, as we were 75% of the way done by last week.

Final two beds

Final two beds

In one of the remaining 2 beds, we planted our 12 tomato plants, 6 pepper plants, and some marigolds to help with the pollination.

Tomato plants

Tomato plants

Pepper plants and Marigolds

Pepper plants and Marigolds

In one half the last bed, we planted more marigolds and the zucchini plants.

Zucchini plants and more Marigolds

Zucchini plants and more Marigolds

So we have approximately 1 /2 of a bed left, and we still need to plant eggplant, greenbeans, hot peppers, watermelon (moon and stars) and corn.  Yea…not going to happen. We’ve officially run out of room.

Our little 4ft.x4ft. plot we originally envisioned that we’d get is now more than 150 sq. feet and we STILL ran out of room!  Not to mention, I probably could have planted more if left to my own devices.  This goes to show us that one day we will easily need a garden twice the size.  And an automatic tiller, because I never want to turn over the soil by hand again :)

I guess this year is a good introduction to gardening though…I’ve spent so much time outside this spring, it’s made it seem a lot longer than it normally does.  I hope everything continues to do well.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

