Skip to content

Change in Plans

May 22, 2009

We’re not going camping after all.  I’m kind of annoyed with myself because we can’t get our money back for the reservations.  But I decided to call the camp ranger up at the DEC site today to ask him if the blackflies were bad.  His response? “Bad, and getting worse by the day.”  I asked him if we should bring head nets, and he said, succinctly, “Yes.”

Oookay…not my idea of fun, so I think we’re going to pass.  Plus there’s a good chance of rain.  Rain PLUS blackflies – it just gets worse – so we’re mixing things up.

We’re going away to Vermont for the weekend instead!  It’s going to be really relaxing, so I’m looking forward to it.  We’ve booked a lovely B&B near Woodstock, VT that looks like this in the wintertime:

deerbrook

I’m looking forward to seeing the gorge nearby, maybe doing some hiking or canoeing, perhaps a trip to some local museums.  We’re even going to the Farmer’s Diner, that awesome place that serves local foods that is featured in Animal, Vegetable, Miracle.  But most of all, I’m looking to relax.  I haven’t gotten more than 3-4 hours of sleep per night for the last MONTH.  If I don’t get some sleep this weekend, I’m going to need to get some medicinal help for it next week.  I’m planning to hit up the library before we go.  I’d love to sit out on the porch with a book in hand and just read away the afternoon, then go out for dinner, then come back to the B&B and enjoy a quiet evening WITHOUT tv.  Oh man, I hope it’s nice!

So I’d better get going and give the house a once over before leaving tomorrow for the weekend.  Oh, supposedly the B&B has free WiFi so hopefully I’ll be able to update from there!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mandy permalink
    May 22, 2009 10:40 pm

    Blackflies? I’ve never heard of those…

    VT sounds great! Have some Ben and Jerry’s for me!!

Leave a Reply

