Skip to content

Woodstock Part I

May 24, 2009

IMG_0038Hello from Vermont!  I’m sitting on the bed in our lovely B&B room, blogging away and the hubby is reading the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy besides me.  There’s no TV in the room…so relaxing.  Maybe without Internet it’d be even more relaxing, but I don’t wanna push myself too far now :)

Today has been a great day, and I have lots of pics to share.  We didn’t get to Woodstock until almost 3pm, when we met our hosts, David and George here at the B&B.  I’ll post more about the B&B when we’re not here anymore, suffice it say our hosts are very gracious and the room very comfortable!

We spent the rest of the day in Woodstock itself.  First we ate a late lunch at Bentley’s.

Bentley's Restaurant

Bentley's Restaurant

The food was pretty good.  I ordered a Grilled Portabello Mushroom sandwich (not a big meat eater when I can’t control where my meat is coming from) that was delish. It had mesclun greens, red onions, tomatoes, smoked gouda cheese and herbed mayonnaise on peasant bread.  With it I ordered this –

Cranberry Wine Spritzer

Cranberry Wine Spritzer

A cranberry wine spritzer made with a local wine from Boyden Valley Winery. It was actually pretty dry, so I didn’t end up finishing it :(  The hubby had The Woodstocker, grilled chicken breast, bacon, cheddar cheese and mayonnaise on a croissant.  His looked pretty good too.

After eating we took a long walk around the town.  Man, it is gorgeous.  We saw half a dozen houses that we wished we could buy:

IMG_0045

IMG_0068

IMG_0069

The town has some really lovely public buildings too:

Wait, maybe a bank isn't a public building

Wait, maybe a bank isn't a public building

Public Library

Public Library

Courthouse

Courthouse

Woodstock Inn

Woodstock Inn

And some lovely natural beauty as well:

IMG_0031

IMG_0040

IMG_0070

There were lilacs all around the town and they were SO fragrant.  Everyone once in awhile K and I would get hit with a waft of perfumed air that made us stop in our tracks.  Beautiful.

IMG_0047

After our walk, we decided to check out this store:

IMG_0065

This is a general store in town that is sort of tourist but is freakin’ awesome.  I’ve been in general stores before.  This is the most general General Store I’ve *ever* seen.  You name it, they have it here, from camping equipment to wine, beer, full grocery (including fiddleheads!), household stuff, farm equipment, board games, John Deere stuff, even a cowbell.  We also found multiple flavors of Woodchuck cider! I never realized there was more to Woodchuck cider besides the Amber style.  Today we found Pear, Draft, and best of all, Granny Smith.  Sweet!

Then we turned the corner and saw this:

IMG_0058

A wall of beer that you can purchase INDIVIDUALLY.  They even offer this:

IMG_0057

Make Your Own 6 packs?  Why have I never seen this anywhere before?  Genius!

Well, I have lots more to write about but I’m exhausted so I’m signing off for now! I NEED a good night’s sleep!


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

