Skip to content

4/1=1/4

April 1, 2010

Today is April 1st, April Fool’s Day.  It’s funny that the date, 4/1 is exactly 1/4th of the way through the year.  Given that, since it’s the start of a new quarter, I thought I should check in on where I am with my 2010 to do list.

1. Finish hard-copy books.

I’m only about 1/3 of the way through. I have about 100 pages left in the History of Wales, but that’s about all that I’ve gotten through.  I started reading again on my Kindle, and neglected the “real” books. It’s just fun and easy.  But I will get through these books!

2. No reading while I eat.

I’ve been doing well on this, but I can’t take all the credit.  The hubby has been vigilant about it! I have to admit, I just don’t enjoy mealtimes as much as I used to, but maybe that’s the point.  Unfortunately, this hasn’t really translated into weight loss, but I guess I haven’t gained much either, which, leads me to …

3. Lose 5% of my weight.

Since I first stated this goal, I’ve lost exactly 1 pound.  Wow…not.  But if I look on the positive side, I guess it’s good that I haven’t gained anything.  And given my back and some other medical issues, I’ve been unable to really work out much.  I have to get vigilant more about what I eat. If I can’t really exercise, I *can* control what I put in my mouth.

4. Finish my wedding cross-stitch.

I’ve made a little progress on this.  I would have made more but I’ve actually had to rip stitches out multiple times because I wasn’t paying attention to the colors I was using. Bah.

But here’s the way it looked last time I posted about it.

Unfinished cross-stitching

And here is where I am today.

The border is more complete and a good portion of one of the flowers is done.  Plenty to go though!

5. Learn my sewing machine.

This one is as good as done! I wouldn’t consider myself an expert by any means, but I can wind bobbins, and sew on my machine.  Thanks to my friend Cynthia, I’m even close to finishing my quilt!

All right, so it’s not a real quilt, I guess. Until Cynthia showed me some pictures, I didn’t realize it was supposed to be more than sewing big squares together! Seriously.  But it’s been in my closet unfinished for years, so I might as well finish it and then move on to REAL quilting. :)

6. Get my house organized.

Now, this one is going great! All our closets are cleaned out, and this weekend we are planning to rent a rug cleaner to wash the carpets.  I have a bunch of things already donated, and lots of others to still get recycled.  That’s a whole ‘nother post.

So, a quarter of the way through the year, I’m doing well on my list.  I’m about 1/2 way done with it, and gotten a good start on my reading and cross-stitching.  Now I just have to really kick into gear on some weight loss. :/


One Comment leave one →
  1. April 1, 2010 10:06 pm

    Now we just need to schedule a day to finish up your quilt :-)

Leave a Reply

