Skip to content

Farmer’s Market Recap

April 20, 2010

This weekend at the market was pretty quiet for us, mostly due to the fact that we bought a lot the previously week.

  • 1/2 gallon reduced-fat milk from Battenkill Creamery
  • 1 basil plant from Cornell Farm
  • 1 bunch broccoli rabe from Migliorelli Farm
  • 8 oz. fig chevre from Painted Goat Farm
  • 1 cinnamon twist and 1 croissant from Our Daily Bread

I’m so glad to finally get another basil plant.  I’ve now had this one for almost three years, and while it’s still giving us leaves, it’s overgrown and woody and just not that great anymore. Time to  get rid of that one and have this new little one take its place!

Old, woody basil plant

New little basil plant

Meanwhile, I’ve been craving the fig chevre cheese at the market sold by Painted Goat Farm for weeks now, and our left over baguette from last week (we froze it) made the perfect vehicle for it!  Yum!

Animal Welfare Approved!! I’ll get to that in a second, but first, look at this fig/cheese yumminess.

So good.

But anyway, the Animal Welfare Approved logo stamp is something I just learned about and am hoping to see on more of the products I buy soon. It’s a “market-based solution to growing consumer interest in how farm animals are raised and desire to know where their food is coming from and how it is produced.”  They grant the use of the AWA logo to farms that are audited annually and comply with their rigorous animal welfare standards.  Their aim is to give “consumers a way to identify products which come from humane farming systems.” You can read more here.

This is good to know because I’m just getting to know this vendor at our market.  They had some postcards at their “stall” that I picked up.

Not the greatest scan, but those look like happy goats.

So I asked about their farm, and if I could come visit it.  I am going farm hopping this summer to check out where all my food comes from!

Anyway, I was surprised when she told me they weren’t set up for visitors.  To me, that seems like an essential part of the farmer’s market culture – people interested in knowing where their food comes from pay a higher premium for that food.  So…no visit? Apparently not. At least not yet.  This AWA stamp of approval will go a long way towards making me feel better since I can’t find out for myself.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2010 9:19 pm

    I’ve never heard of a farm ‘not set up for visitors’ – that’s curious. I’ve heard of ‘closed farms’ due to biosecurity -especially farms that produce food and farms with expensive show animals.
    Sounds like it was fun shopping!

  2. April 23, 2010 4:26 pm

    Dude, way to grow! I hope one day I’ll have a plant that survives a few months, much less three years!

Leave a Reply

