Skip to content

Urban Homesteaders Gaining Popularity

April 28, 2010

Another article on the rise of urban homesteading in the U.S.!

In cities across the country, the term “homesteading” has taken on a new meaning. In the late 19th and early 20th centuries, it referred to settlers occupying land, cultivating it and claiming it as their own.

Today in the Bay Area and beyond, urban homesteaders like Ms. Stone and her roommates are raising their own food in their backyards, in community gardens and on derelict and undeveloped spaces in the city. They’re preserving and pickling vegetables and fruits, sewing their own clothes, baking bread, making alcoholic beverages, and much more.

As the movement has flourished and become more mainstream — embraced by activists and food lovers alike — so too have the resources for would-be urban homesteaders.

Granted, I can’t exactly call where I live urban, as it is decidedly a mix of rural/surburban, but given that we have no land currently, it certainly feels urban!  However, living where we do, there aren’t as many resources for homesteading as I would like to have.  I have looked for a long time for homesteading peeps on meetup.com in my area – but alas, apparently there are none.  I think the major problem is that while I live technically very close to the capital of NYS, it is so rural right outside it that there are many real farmers who do these things and have always done them – so there’s no marketable need thus far.

But I really think that is changing.  Cloth diapering has made a big comeback in this area, and the farmers markets are HOPPING.  I can’t believe that at least a small percentage of those people wouldn’t be interested in some of those things, like canning workshops, seed saving, soap making, etc.  I know I would!

However, I don’t have many skills (with the exception of canning) where I would feel expert enough to teach others.  But that would be lots of fun! Ooh, imagine giving canning classes in my kitchen!

These people seem to do something similar, and they have arrangements with farms in their area to get their produce for canning from – so it IS something possible to do without having the produce grown yourself.

Oh man…maybe one day…

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 28, 2010 11:14 pm

    I would be tickled pink if you taught me to can. I’ll trade you quilting lessons for canning lessons. That’s bartering like the old world :-)

Leave a Reply

