Skip to content

Farmer’s Market Sunday

June 17, 2010

Yes, it’s ridiculously late, but I was just going over my pictures from the week and realized I never posted this week’s goodies from the Greenmarket.

  • 1 quart cherries from Maynard Farm
  • 1lb buckwheat and 1lb wildflower honey
  • 1 pint chocolate milk and 1/2 gallon of reduced-fat milk
  • 8 oz. of mozzarella cheese and 32 oz. of maple yogurt from R&G cheese
  • 1 dozen jumbo eggs from Coopers Ark Farm
  • 1 bagel, 1 sticky bun, and 1 croissant from Our Daily Bread
  • 1lb of new red potatoes from Madura Farm
  • 1 bunch asparagus from Buhrmaster Farm
  • 3 pieces rhubarb from Migliorelli Farm
  • 1 bowl of black and white sticky rice with mango

Ok, this bowl of sticky rice.  It’s sort of the whole point of this post.

Oh my gosh. I was going through my pics, as I said previously, and it made my mouth water all over again.  This was made by Thunder Mountain Curry, with a recycled plastic bowl (boo for plastic, yay for it being recyclable), a banana leaf, black and white sticky rice with coconut cream infused lemongrass and the most delicious mango I’ve ever tasted on top.  It was melt-in-your-mouth goodness from the first bite till last.  The guy who served it said it was the last of the mango, and I’m hoping he’s wrong because I WANT MORE!!! But what do I know about the mango season, except for the fact that no, it’s definitely not local.

There are some rules made to be broken, which is why I’m not sure I can ever go 100% local.  Sweet, delicious mangoes?  Yes please. :)

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 18, 2010 11:51 am

    Wow – quite a haul! I am looking forward to ours tomorrow.
    Love your blog!

Leave a Reply

