Skip to content

Salsa Time!

August 4, 2010

This weekend I made six pints of salsa with the 15 lbs of tomatoes sitting in my fridge.  Compared to last year, it was so much easier.  I also discovered you don’t really need to follow the Ball Book for the ingredients exactly, as long as you make sure to put in the proper amount vinegar so you don’t die of botulism or anything. :)

What I loved about this year is that nearly every single ingredient in my salsa came from my own garden, with the exception of the cilantro (from the farmer’s market) which I think is utterly ridiculous because I’ve never had trouble growing cilantro before, yet this year, my transplants haven’t done well.  But the tomatoes, onions, garlic, peppers were all by my hand, which feels great!

This year I half-followed the Zesty Salsa recipe in the ball book, using 10 cups chopped, seeded and cored tomatoes (not peeled though).  I hate peeling tomatoes, and I really don’t care if my salsa has a little tomato skin in it.  Although most canning recipes say to take off the peels, you can keep them on, they just might look discolored later on. To date, everything looks fine with our salsa, though.

IMG_2654.JPG

The majority of the tomatoes we used in this salsa were our purple cherokee, along with a few amish pastes and even some isis candy!

IMG_2653.JPG

Throwing 10 cups into the pot, along with 5 cups of chopped onions, 3 cloves of garlic, minced, 3 seeded cayenne peppers, a big bunch of minced cilantro (yummm, I love Cilantro) was all I basically did.  Most recipes don’t call for so much cilantro, but make it essentially how you like it!

IMG_2656.JPG

Add 1 1/4 cups of cider vinegar to the pot and heat to boiling, then reduce heat and simmer 10 minutes.

IMG_2657.JPG

Ladle into hot jars, leaving 1/4 inch headspace, adjust the two-piece caps and process for 15 minutes in a boiling water canner.

And for God’s sake, be careful when seeding your hot peppers.  I swear I washed my hands after doing so but I rubbed my eyes afterwards and was in so much pain!  Later on my eyes teared and the pain began anew! Wear gloves, it’s so much safer that way.

IMG_2661.JPG

6 pints of salsa, enough to get us through to next summer :)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2010 10:41 am

    This looks delicious!!!!

  2. August 7, 2010 10:54 am

    I’m new at canning and I didn’t know you could get away with not peeling tomatoes- it’s such a pain in the butt!! Your salsa looks great!

  3. August 17, 2010 8:37 am

    Ohhh no, the pepperation!

Leave a Reply

