Skip to content

Pick Your Own

September 26, 2010

What a crazy weekend!! I feel like I’ve been set on “go” all weekend long, but it’s been absolutely fantastic.

I attended my first local blogger meet up on Saturday and made some “blends” – which I learned means blogger friends.  There was Lauren, Cynthia, Jen, Becca, Heather, and Nicole. We’re going to pretend I wasn’t talking when this picture was taken and don’t look horrible, ‘kay?

It was really nice A) to meet some new people, B) to meet some new people who don’t look at me crazily when I pull out a camera in the middle of something and C) to meet some new people who don’t look at me crazy when I pull out a camera because they’re doing the same thing!

We met up at Indian Ladder, which, as you must know by now, is one of my favorite places, considering the amount of times I have gone apple picking there.  I mean, how can you not love a place that is run by FIFTH generation farmers???

I do wish Indian Ladder would get with the program and allow people to bring in their own bags instead of making you purchase a plastic bag to pick apples.  Altamont Orchards does this, and although I was caught empty-handed last year, I do really appreciate the conservation aspect (as well as the not-having-to-use-oil aspect, of course!).

We had lunch at the Yellow Rock Cafe before heading out to the field-o’-the-day to pick Empire and Kendall apples.

The Empire apple field looked pretty picked over, even though Empire’s aren’t supposed to come into their own until the last week of September.  Kendalls were much more plentiful!

After apple picking, everyone headed back to my place to do some canning! There were a few canning virgins and the place was a bit chaotic as we tried to fit in two recipes in less than 3 hours.

A bit of the chaos:

Canning supplies

Apples in Heather's bag

Getting the apples ready!

Apple cider from Indian Ladder

Apple butter recipe

Apples ready for cooking

Heather's priceless face!

Cynthia tried to burn my house down

The finished product

Nicole approves!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2010 11:26 pm

    You forgot to mention that I also broke your faucet :-) Had so much fun yesterday! Glad you are a good frog (friend with a blog).

  2. September 27, 2010 2:43 am

    Excellent post! I really enjoyed reading it. I will be back for more!
    Sincerely,

  3. September 27, 2010 11:56 am

    i don’t know WHY I’m making that face. It really wasnt that bad!!! hahaha.

  4. September 27, 2010 11:57 am

    hahaa. i just looked at it again and am still laughing.

    especially because i realized that i am holding that “chaser.” hahahaaha.

Trackbacks

  1. 10-10-10 « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

