Skip to content

Quarter Cow Comes Home

November 6, 2010

Last weekend at the farmer’s market, K and I picked up our quarter cow from Sweet Tree Farm.  It came in a big white Coleman cooler that barely fit in K’s large trunk.

Luckily, John helped K put the cooler in the trunk of the car, since there was no way I could. He also told us we could keep the cooler for the week and return it to the market next Sunday.

When we got home, we realized it would probably be easier to take the cuts out of the trunk and stick them in our chest freezer, instead of trying to lift the whole cooler out.  It was chock full of beef.

We ended up with approximately 105lbs of take home beef.  This included:

  • 34lbs of ground beef
  • 11.32lbs of stew beef
  • 3.88lbs of beef brisket
  • 12oz. of skirt steak
  • 9.54 lbs of soup bones
  • 3 lbs of suet
  • 3.31 lbs of bottom round roast
  • 5.73 lbs of london broil
  • 5.6 lbs of boneless chuck roast
  • 3.53 lbs of rib eye steaks
  • 1.13 lbs of beef ribs
  • 5.3 lbs of short ribs
  • 2.47 lbs of oxtail
  • 3 lbs of boneless sirloin steak
  • 3 lbs of sirloin tip roast
  • .83 lbs of flat iron steak
  • 1.85 lbs of beef tenderloin
  • 2.875 of boneless strip steak

We paid for 150lbs hanging weight (at $3.75 lb), so we ended up paying approximately $6.29/lb for what we got.  The cost to us was $666, but since it was Halloween, I wrote the check out for $667, and John gave me a $1 back. Normally I’m not superstitious, but come on, on Halloween?

Of course, that night we had to try our beef.  K selected one of the boneless sirloin steaks, which we ate with some brown rice and our own carrots that night.

Need I say it? It was fantastic. Tender, juicy, medium rare (just the way we both like it), and we ate the whole darn 1.62 lbs.

We’re going to be hard pressed not to eat all our meat in 3 months. :)

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2010 11:53 am

    Wow that’s a lot of beef. The next time Hunni asks “Where’s the beef?” I’m sending him to your house :-)

    BTW I would have totally done the same thing with the check :-D

  2. Heidi permalink
    November 6, 2010 2:04 pm

    That is totally awesome.

    And if you break it down at 6 oz. average of meat per meal for 2 people (so 12 oz. total), that is 140 meals, or $4.75 per meal. Not bad, my friend, not bad.

    Why don’t I think of these things?

  3. November 7, 2010 10:27 pm

    My family bought 1/4 of a steer when I was in undergrad. Unfortunately, they weren’t as pleased because a lot of the meat was kind of greasy. I’m glad that your experience is much better. I named ours Storm the Steer.

  4. November 16, 2010 11:03 am

    Wow. I think my jaw hit the floor when I read what you paid.
    Last month I got a whole cow for just under $1300…of course, I had to assist in the cut and wrap, but for $1.85 lb, I thought is was worth it.
    Perhaps it’s regional thing-since I’m in Canada-or maybe it’s because you took only a 1/4.

Leave a Reply

