Skip to content

Green Tomato Relish

November 22, 2010

A few weeks ago, with the last of my green tomatoes (that had been sitting in my fridge for a few weeks before that), I finally got around t0 making and canning some green tomato relish. There wasn’t much else to do with them as frost was right around the corner when I picked them, but I didn’t want them to go to waste. What better way to get use of them all year?

This recipe (from Mother Earth News) is really simple, and only uses a few ingredients.

Ingredients:

  • 25 medium (or 35 small) green tomatoes
  • 3 medium green bell peppers
  • 2 medium sweet red peppers
  • 3 medium onions
  • 4 tbsp pickling salt
  • 4 cups sugar
  • 3 cups white vinegar
  • 3 tbsp mustard seed
  • 3 tbsp celery seed

Directions:

Finely chop all vegetables, then cover with the pickling salt and stir to coat. Let mixture stand 3 hours, then drain. Boil sugar, vinegar and seeds for 5 minutes, then add the mixture and simmer for 10-15 minutes.  Pack into pint jars and process in a boiling water bath for 10 minutes. Yields 7 pints.

I only made half the recipe as I didn’t have quite as many tomatoes.

I also didn’t have any celery seed on hand, but allegedly you can substitute celery salt instead. However, dumb me had cut all the ingredients in half (since I was only making half the recipe) but forgot about cutting the pickling salt in half.  I figured also adding celery salt would not help matters.

I really had no need for 7 pints of relish, but 7 half pints isn’t too bad.

We tried some on our brats last week, along with some sauerkraut, and loved it! Just the perfect combination of sour and sweet, it provided a nice little kick.

I think this recipe will become a yearly preserving recipe.  So easy to make, and you get quite a lot out of it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

