Skip to content

Giving Thanks

November 24, 2010

Well, it’s that time of the year.

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday of the year. Yup, even beating out Christmas! The food, the tradition, the family, I love it all.  Plus it’s the start of the holiday season, which is always fun for me.  By the end of it, I’m kind of over it, but this time of the year, it’s all BRING IT ON!

Last year, we hosted an almost totally local Thankgiving dinner, but this year, we’ll be going down to my inlaws to celebrate.

This year is particularly tough for me.  I’ve been going through some depression related to things going on IRL…and on the surface I honestly don’t feel thankful for much.  Too much lately I’ve been all “woe is me.”

And that’s ok. Sometimes that’s what it takes to get through the moment. But really, I have a great life, even when I’m bemoaning about all the crappy things currently happening to me. And it’s only right that at this time of year I really think about everything I’m thankful for.

There are some obvious things I am thankful for.  My husband, my family, my friends, clean air, a safe town, etc. etc.  I promise, I am thankful for all of that!

But here are some things you may not know I’m thankful for:

Amazon wish lists.

How did I NOT learn about this ’90s inspired ThingAMaJig before only a few weeks ago? I am pretty sure I’ve loaded up my wish list with more items than people I know! And I’m not really telling anyone I have one, so it will remain “wish”-ed on for awhile. It’s more a wish list for me, myself and I.

The Kitchen Aid mixer.

 

 

It whips my butter, it grinds my soap, it rolls my pasta – it is all around awesomeness.

A good nose.

Image from washington.edu

Yea, it sucks when the garbage is in dire need of being taken out, but is awesome when smelling the smoke coming out of a woodburning stove or today in Predel’s smelling all the Thanksgiving pies.

Coquito

 

It’s got coconut, it’s got sweet condensed milk, lots of rum, and is the consistency of eggnog.  You can’t get more Puerto Rican, and mi abuelo makes it the BEST.

Teh Internets

Image from fh.net

For helping me meet some of the favorite people in my life for years and years now, for being my encyclopedia Brittanica at any time of the day or night.

What are some things people might not know you’re thankful for?

 

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2010 8:08 pm

    I’m thankful for the fun things I’ve learned this year. SO many new things that are my huge hobbies and I can’t believe I’ve live this long without them.

    And for my internet friends who have become great real life friends!

  2. Melanie permalink
    November 24, 2010 9:34 pm

    I am thankful for my husband, my family, my health and wonderful friends like you who have helped me through one of the toughest years of my life

Leave a Reply

