Skip to content

Homemade Chocolate Syrup

December 22, 2010

With my vanilla bean ice cream, I knew the perfect topper would be some hot fudge syrup.

I’ve had a bottle of Hershey’s Lite Syrup in my fridge for YEARS now. No really, years.  You can tell from the expiration date.

Eww eww…this is getting washed out and thrown in recycling right away!

Anyway, I’m sure it was sitting there for so long because A) it probably tasted like crap and B) the amount of preservatives in there were something I didn’t want to put in my body after we started homesteading.

So, I was thrilled when Renee at Almost Foodies showed me the perfect recipe for homemade chocolate syrup. She got the recipe from from SULIbag via live green mom.

I can’t compete with her pictures, but here is my attempt at chocolate syrup.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 dash salt
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

I did not make this with either organic, fair trade cocoa powder or organic sugar, because would you like to guess how long my Hershey’s cocoa powder has been waiting to be finished? We also have plenty of sugar left over from the 25lb bag we bought from BJ’s for our canning efforts this year.  However, now that I’ve just about finished the cocoa powder, I definitely want to buy fair trade next time.

 

DIRECTIONS

1.  Stir all ingredients together.


2.  Boil 2 – 5 minutes, stirring rapidly, until sauce begins to thicken. (I took Renee’s advice and used a whisk)
3.  Allow to cool slightly and store in container in the fridge.

This made slightly more than a pint, just enough over for me to use on ice cream the night I made it!

That’s it! How did I not know that making my own chocolate sauce could be so easy?  And with using your own ingredients, you know exactly what went into it.  I love that.

You can use this syrup for anything you would normally use your chocolate syrup on or in, including chocolate milk, but be forewarned it is seriously chocolaty and a little goes a LONG way. So good though, and the perfect compliment to my vanilla bean ice cream!

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2010 9:01 am

    I will DEFINATELY be trying this! Thanks!

  2. December 23, 2010 10:04 am

    While I’m not a chocolate lover, I would love to make this for other people. What a fun homemade gift? Also, we have the same salt & pepper shakers.

    • December 31, 2010 11:56 am

      I think other people would love it – especially chocolate lovers! Don’t forget to refrigerate though!
      (I think my salt and pepper shakers were a wedding gift :) )

Leave a Reply

