Skip to content

Vermont Ski Weekend

January 19, 2011

Instead of exchanging gifts this Christmas, my family decided to do a weekend away together.  I think it’s so much better than buying things for people who can buy those things for themselves. And as adults with busy lives, we’re rarely all together often, so a weekend away together is a great memory maker.

My mom wanted to go skiing in Vermont, despite A) never having skied before, and B) never having been to Vermont before.  But the idea just appealed to her, and the rest of us jumped on.  We rented a house in West Dover, on the slopes of Mt. Snow, complete with a fireplace and a hot tub.  It was a great idea, and not much more than the cost of a few hotel rooms.  Plus, we got to hang out in the house with each other and watch TV, play games, and ease aching muscles in the hot tub, without having to share with strangers. Perfect!

The ride up that Friday night was terrible, but for no one so much as my parents and sister, who left Westchester around 4pm and didn’t get to the house until 2:30am, despite it being a trip that should have taken 3 hours.  That really stunk, especially since they had to be up early for skiing just a few hours later.

Everyone left the house on time to make their respective ski lessons, or in my brother and SIL’s case, some early skiing, and I had the house to myself.  Because skiing? I’ve done it. Once. I’m good :)  Instead, I enjoyed the hot tub while reading my Kindle and felt like I was in pure heaven.  Then I played outside with Penny, my parents’ dog, for a little while, then drove to Wilmington with her to do some window shopping. It was very nice and very relaxing.  Penny was great – she’s one of those dogs that doesn’t need a leash and doesn’t leave your side.

Afterwards, I went to a local ski shop to rent some snowshoes, since I’ve been wanting to snowshoe for a long time.  There are apparently a ton of snowshoe trails around West Dover but I couldn’t find any, so I decided to head back to the house and walk around there.  Penny and I headed to the back of the house, but Penny’s feet must have been getting cold because all of a sudden she decided she wasn’t going any further.  She picked her way in the dry spots right next to the house as I tramped down the knee-high snow in my snowshoes.  “Fine,” I told her. “You stay here, I won’t be too long,” and I started off towards a trail that led off from the back of the house. She stayed, but as soon as I got into the woods she started barking that she couldn’t see me anymore.  Grr…I swear that dog is the most high maintenance mutt ever!

Soon enough, people started trickling back from the slopes, exhausted but having enjoyed the day.  We all got in the hot tub, and soaked in the heat, guzzling bottles of water .  It was too hot to stay in for more than a few minutes, but it was just what everyone needed!

Later on that evening, everyone but me and K struggled to stay awake for the JETS game! And we all know how that turned out (Thank you, Colts).

The next morning, K and I went for a short snowshoe trek through some snowmobiling trails near the house. It wasn’t for very long, but it was long enough to make me a snowshoe lover.  It’s so much fun to stay on top of the snow!

After our snowshoeing hike,the whole family went to Adams Farm for an old fashioned sleigh ride!

I’ve always wanted to do this, and so of course I was singing “to Grandmother’s house we go!” over and over again in my head, but now having done one, not so much fun! It was snowing and FREEZING, and even though we were bundled up in winterwear and had a blanket as well, I was almost miserable.  I couldn’t imagine going 20 miles in a sled in that weather.

Dad, Sis and Mom waiting for the sleigh ride to start

It wasn’t the kind of sled you think about when going “o’er the hill to Grandma’s house”, so when going up hill or around a curve, you would slide into the person next to you.

First we went around the barns with their draft horses. They are gorgeous!

We saw their sugarhouse, where they produce their own syrup, and it reminded me of our Maple Sugar Weekend last March. Only they don’t have any lines; they tap and hang buckets by hand to collect their sap!

Driving over their fields of snow was so pretty, and so lovely, if I hadn’t been numb with cold.

Just when I thought my toes were about to fall off, we made it to the cabin in the middle of the farm for a rest stop and some hot cocoa.  I needed it!

The cabin was handmade by some Adams’ men, and I felt like I was back in a homestead in the 1800s!

It was so cold outside that my camera lens fogged as soon as we got into the cabin, but check out that stove through the fogginess! I want one.

I guess you can’t really see it, but next to that sink is an old-fashioned hand pump.  No faucets and water pipes here!

Family togetherness, woohoo! What a great weekend!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2011 7:57 pm

    What gorgeous horses! And I totally agree… getting together is the BEST gift. I wish my family could get together more often — we live really far away from each other, and it’s hard! A weekend getaway would be such a gift.

  2. January 20, 2011 9:16 am

    Looks like lots of fun!

  3. January 23, 2011 7:02 pm

    Looks like a great time! My dad insisted on a sleigh ride last year, lol…I had close to the same thoughts, although there was no pit stop for warmth.

Leave a Reply

