Skip to content

Garden Season Is Almost Here!

January 23, 2011

Guess what came in the mail for us this week?

It’s garden sign up time!!!

I have to admit, I’m a little sad that we haven’t yet sold our house, so we need the community garden for yet another year. But I am also grateful to live in an area that has community gardens, so I will concentrate on that.

Speaking of the garden, K and I drove over there today to pick up some carrots from our mini root-cellar to use in the split pea soup we’re making this week from our peas we grew in the garden last supper and the ham we bought from the farmer’s market last month.  I didn’t have my camera, but…there will be no carrots in our soup.  The garden has 2.5 feet of snow and we didn’t think to mark the spot where our little root cellar is.  Man, we have SO many carrots too, and no way to use them.  I guess we’ll have to go over with snowshoes and a shovel next week and try to find it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2011 3:23 pm

    Find your carrots yet?

    • January 27, 2011 2:20 pm

      LOL, no!! It turns out there is 1 foot of snow, followed by a thick layer of ice and more snow. I’m thinking they might be stuck in there till Spring unless we get an ice pick!

      • February 7, 2011 9:21 pm

        No one wants to lose a finger jabbing around in the snow with an ice pick looking for carrots. My vote is to get some organic ones at the store and call it a day.

      • February 10, 2011 9:59 pm

        Ha! I totally agree! We did :)

Leave a Reply

