Skip to content

Did You Know?

March 22, 2011

Did you know I’m a total and complete anglophile?  I lived in England for a few years as a little kid, and came back with an English accent (which I promptly lost within another few years).  I can give you a detailed history of England from 900-1600AD, but later than that and I don’t know much.

That’s because I’m also a Welshophile (Cymryophile?)  There’s no rhyme or reason to it. I don’t have one drop of Welsh blood in my veins.  But when I was an insatiable writer as well as reader in my pre-teen years, I created a character who was Welsh, and I *had* to learn all about Wales.  I fell in love, and have been obsessed with the country ever since.  When I backpacked Britain in 2004, I HAD to go to Aberystwyth, where my character was from (I literally just picked a cool name off the map when I was younger), and I bought this there to commemorate my thoughts on the matter:

To this day, I still collect Welsh things, including anything with the longest word in the world (which happens to be in Welsh):

Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrn-drobwllllantysiliogogogoch

 

I’m just drawn to the Welsh language – all those consonants in a row! That “word” is actually a place name, and when translated, is a whole sentence!

St Mary’s Church (Llanfair) in the hollow (pwll) of the white hazel (gwyngyll) near (goger) the rapid whirlpool (y chwyrndrobwll) and the church of St Tysilio (llantysilio) by the red cave ([a]g ogo goch).

So of course, last year, I asked for (and received) Rosetta Stone Welsh.  Yep, I’m THAT big of a geek.

Anyway, the whole point of me telling you this is that you would think that when deciding upon a BIG trip to take this year, K and I would automatically head to Britain.

After all, London is my favorite city in the world.

BUT…London is also a bit close. I *could* (though I probably won’t) go to the UK, “any time.”

Same thing with Ireland, which is really on sale this Spring it seems, if you’re looking for someplace to go.

But given all the crap in the last year, K and I wanted to go somewhere we’ve never been and likely would never go again.

Somewhere slightly exotic.

We thought about Japan, *just* before the earthquake and tsunami hit.

Also about Thailand, although they had a tsunami hit a few years ago as well.

We wanted someplace warm.

But not too warm.

And so, we’re going to…

Image Source: http://www.crossed-flag-pins.com


Turkey and Greece!!


We are so excited. We are flying into and out of Istanbul but will either be taking a train or flying directly to Athens and ferrying to some islands before heading back to Istanbul. I would also love to go to Ephesus or Cappadocia, but with our time limits (2 weeks only) I don’t know if we will be able to.

I can’t wait for:

  • Turkish food

  • Shopping at their street markets

  • Seeing the whirling dervishes

  • Visiting the ancient sites of Greece like the Acropolis

  • …and the Cave of the Apocalypse on Patmos, where St. John the Divine wrote the Book of the Apocalypse (better known to us as the Book of Revelations)

  • And of course, relaxing on the sunny beaches, whether they have red sand:

Image Source: http://www.bugbog.com
  • Or white sand:

  • Or black sand:

I am so ready for this trip! Now that tickets are book, we just need to figure out our itinerary! I foresee many nights pouring over guidebooks in our near future!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather permalink
    March 22, 2011 9:42 pm

    Whee!!! I am so excited for you.

  2. March 22, 2011 9:55 pm

    You are going to have so much fun. Enjoy yourselves and eat some good Greek food for me :-)

  3. S1B permalink
    March 23, 2011 6:47 am

    You’re going to have a great time! Enjoy. Also I’ll expect a full rundown upon your return. :-)

Leave a Reply

