Skip to content

Sprouting Seeds…

April 20, 2011

…Or rather, one.

That’s right. I’ve planted a total of 10 seedlings so far this year. I haven’t even started my tomatilloes yet.  But this little zucchini plant doesn’t care how much of a slacker I’ve been!

The rain has been keeping us away from the garden. If I had raised beds, this wouldn’t be so much of a problem, but since we don’t, mucking around through the mud is not my idea of a good time unless for a good reason (like taking care of already sprouted plants).  But we haven’t even planted our peas yet. Uh oh.

However, we did pick up 10 gallons of chicken manure from Phil (Coopers Ark Farm) at the Greenmarket the other week.  It stunk so badly we brought it to the garden right away (I’m not sure why we thought we could store it in our garage for a week before we went back to the garden?) Um, no.

I’m sure the manure AND the rain have turned our garden into a great smelling pit of blackness :)

Hopefully it will just make everything grow even better later on.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 21, 2011 9:41 am

    Oh chicken manure… one of the fowlest smells around. I should know, I have a massive manure pile in my backyard ;)

Leave a Reply

