Skip to content

Hello Again

June 19, 2011

Oh my friends. It has been awhile. It has been a very tough few months.  I could not begin to tell you it, nor do I want to (nor do you really want to hear it).  So, moving on it is. I apologize for my sudden reappearance and original disappearance. I had high hopes in May, but life got away from me.

And now it’s nearly July, and what do I have for you?  Not much yet, but things should be picking up soon.  The garden is in full swing, but it is a far cry from last year. A very late start, a terrible spring (wait, what spring? It jumped from winter to summer) and it doesn’t look like we will have much, if any, peas this summer.  Oh well…there’s always the fall.  The tomatoes (and garlic) are coming along jumpingly!

Also, it’s cherry season! And I do not plan on jamming this summer as I have so much in my pantry right now from the last two years, it’s almost frightening.  But I have lots of plans for cherries we’ll be picking soon anyway! Stay tuned.

So…I’m coming back.  Forcing myself, in a way, because this is something I love and when I get into it I really enjoy it. Sometimes you have to force yourself out of your funk to remember those things that make you happy. It’s hard, but occasionally you get a glimpse of that feeling and it makes you want to do it some more.

More preserving, more green living ideas, and we’ll see what I can make of this.  I’ve got to get back to the crunchiness that makes me happy.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2011 9:59 pm

    Welcome back!

    I don’t know what has been going on in your life, but from the sounds of things, it hasn’t been as pleasant as it should have been. Here’s hoping things are getting back on track for you. You have great ideas,and you blog is a pleasure to read. :)

  2. June 20, 2011 8:19 am

    Glad to have you back! I hope things only look up from here. Do you do “pick your own” cherries for preserves? I’m trying to find a place to pick them, but no luck yet…

    • June 22, 2011 9:23 pm

      We do! We go to a place in Hudson, NY to pick. I love cherry jam, but this year I want to try my hand at making maraschino cherries!

      Maybe you can find a PYO place near you from this site?

      http://www.pickyourown.org/NY.htm

  3. June 22, 2011 2:06 pm

    Glad you’re back!

  4. June 23, 2011 10:27 am

    Good to have you back!

Leave a Reply

