Skip to content

Maraschino Cherries – Pt. 1

June 29, 2011

Are you ready to make maraschino cherries?  So am I!! I just hope it works out as well as it sounds.  I’m following the directions I found here.  I’ve got more than 4.5lbs of cherries, I ran out and bought yet MORE sugar as we are just about done with the 25lb bag we got last year, and I’m ready to see if this works!

To start, I pitted all 4.5 lbs of cherries after rinsing them carefully and picking out any “going bad” cherries.

The pitted cherries will be soaked overnight in a brine solution of:

  • 2 quarts water
  • 1 tbsp pickling salt
  • 4-1/2 pounds pitted sweet cherries

Tomorrow comes the sugar!

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2011 4:55 pm

    where’d you get your cherry pitter? I haven’t been able to justify the purchase yet…we don’t typically get cheap enough cherries for me to want to buy very many :)

    • July 1, 2011 2:37 pm

      Bed Bath and Beyond! I think it was $12, but we had a coupon.

Leave a Reply

