Skip to content

Maraschino Cherries – Pt. 2

July 2, 2011

I ended up brining the cherries the morning before I left for work so that they didn’t stay in for too long.  At around 9pm that night, about 13 hours after I left them to soak (12 hours is ideal), I drained the brine and rinsed the cherries thoroughly.

To make the syrup I mixed together:

  • 4-1/2 pounds sugar (!!!)
  • 3 cups water
  • the juice of one lemon
  • 2 tbsp of red food coloring

Holy cow, that’s really red.  I was going for the fake redness you see in the commercial maraschino cherries but I couldn’t stand it.  I wanted to follow the recipe exactly for my first time, but I don’t really see the need for it. I’d rather the natural dark red of the cherry juice any time.

I brought the mixture to a boil then poured it over the cherries.  They were still pretty buoyant, so I weighted them down, then covered the container for the 24 hour soak.

 

Almost there!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

